initial work…

Having learned a small bit about making shoes from the wonderful Paul Thomas, worked in accessory handbag design, product and furniture I decided to embark on an MA in Fashion Footwear design at the excellent Cordwainers London College of Fashion.

Knowing the limitations of design choices/options due to suppliers, volumes, timescales and “fast fashion” I thought there must be another way. With my product design hat on I turned to advances in technologies and from my experience of furniture I thought there must be new materials and processes which can help change a westerner’s reliance on Far East manufacturing.

How to keep it local, how to bring down volumes and how to design for western woman of today.

That is where I started….

made 2010 using traditional bespoke

The spat was a happy accident. With an alternative buckle/fastening a better heel making sense of the spat.

Leave a Reply

